I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2008 (SECOND) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 213

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio Edward J.B. Calvo James V. Espaldon Frank F. Blas, Jr. B. J.F. Cruz Mark Forbes Judith Paulette Guthertz, DPA Frank T. Ishizaki J. A. Lujan Tina Rose Muña Barnes A. B. Palacios, Sr. v. c. pangelinan R. J. Respicio Dr. David L.G. Shimizu J. T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to recognizing the "110th Anniversary of the Proclamation of Independence of the Republic of the Philippines" and congratulating the Filipino Community of Guam on its observance of this historic occasion.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I 2 MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

- 3 WHEREAS, the Proclamation of Independence of the Republic of the
- 4 Philippines is observed every year on the twelfth (12th) of June; and

WHEREAS, the Republic of the Philippines gained its independence 1 2 through the sacrifices of many Filipino Heroes such as, Dr. Jose Rizal, the National Hero of the Philippines, who wrote "Noli Me Tangere" (The Lost 3 Eden), which popularized independence sentiment, and whose execution by 4 the Spanish fostered public outrage and rebellion; Andres Bonifacio, who led 5 the Cry of Balintawak; General Emelio Aguinaldo, who commanded the Battle 6 of Binakayan; and Apolinario Mabini, known as the "Sublime Paralytic" and 7 the "Brain of the Revolution"; and 8

9 WHEREAS, the fight for freedom was also supported by noted Filipinas 10 such as, Melchora Aquino, known as *"Tandang Sora"*, who was exiled to the 11 Marianas by the Spanish Government; Teresa Magbanua, a twenty-eight (28) 12 year old teacher who was one of the first women to lead men into battle; and 13 other Filipina heroines from all walks of life who joined the Revolutionary 14 Forces; and

WHEREAS, the culmination of the struggle for independence came on 15 June 12, 1898, when General Emelio Aguinaldo declared the Philippines' 16 Independence at his hometown of *Kawit*, *Cavite*, where thousands of people 17 18 from the provinces gathered to witness this historic event, including the dramatic unfurling of the Philippine Flag while the Philippine National 19 Anthem was played in public for the first time, after which the "Act of the 20 Declaration of Independence" was solemnly read by its author, Ambrosio 21 Rianzares Bautista, who patterned it after the American Declaration of 22 Independence; and 23

2

1 WHEREAS, said Declaration was adopted by the Assembly of 2 Municipal Presidents and was ratified by the Congress of the Republic of the 3 Philippines in *Malolos, Bulacan* on September 1898, as an expression of the 4 sovereign will of the Filipino people; and

5 WHEREAS, the Filipino Community of Guam celebrates Philippine 6 Independence annually with various activities such as: the Wreath Laying at the Mabini Shrine located in the War in the Pacific National Historical Park in 7 8 Asan that commemorates fifty-two (52) Filipino heroes, including Apolinario Mabini, who were exiled to Guam; and the Filipino Community of Guam's 9 10 Philippine Independence Ball, an annual event that gathers many of Guam's affluent to celebrate the numerous contributions that Filipinos have made to 11 12 the island; now, therefore, be it

13 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na* 14 *Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the 15 people of Guam, recognize the "110th Anniversary of the Proclamation of 16 Independence of the Republic of the Philippines", and further congratulates 17 the Filipino Community of Guam on its festivities in observance thereof on 18 June 13, 2008 at this year's Philippine Independence Ball at the Sheraton 19 Laguna Resort; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Executive Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Rene Quintans, President, Filipino Community of Guam; to the Honorable Bayani Mercado, Consul General of the Philippines to Guam; to the Honorable Gloria

- 1 Macapagal-Arroyo, President of the Philippines; and to the Honorable Felix P.
- 2 Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 4^{TH} DAY OF JUNE 2008.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed. D. Speaker and Chairperson, Executive Committee

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Senator and Secretary of the Legislature